Adams State vs SUNY College at Potsdam
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Adams State UniversityAlamosa, COCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.SUNY College at PotsdamPotsdam, NYCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- SUNY College at Potsdam has the higher graduation rate: 45% against 39% at Adams State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Adams State has the lower price after aid: $11,921 a year, against $14,524 at SUNY College at Potsdam.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at SUNY College at Potsdam: $47,866, against $44,372 at Adams State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 41%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Alamosa, CO
Potsdam, NY
Setting
Town
Town
Students
2,950
2,751
Sports
NCAA Division II · Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · State University of New York Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
Not reported
78%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
39%
45%
First-year retention
51%
78%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$44,372
$47,866
Median debt
$19,500
$24,250
Cost
Average price after aid
About $13,000
About $14,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $10,000
About $9,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $10,000
About $9,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $12,000
About $15,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $16,000
About $16,000
Over $110,000
About $20,000
About $20,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $78,402
- Biology $56,467
- Business (general) $51,111
- Kinesiology and exercise science $44,701
- Liberal arts $41,809
- Geology and earth science $62,004
- Secondary education $57,949
- Business administration $57,066
- Teacher education $53,834
- Criminal justice $53,597
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.