Albany State vs McNeese State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Albany State UniversityAlbany, GACompass Score: GoodB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.McNeese State UniversityLake Charles, LACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- McNeese State has the higher graduation rate: 47% against 31% at Albany State.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, McNeese State has the lower price after aid: $11,640 a year, against $13,785 at Albany State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at McNeese State: $46,453, against $40,674 at Albany State.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 37%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Albany, GA
Lake Charles, LA
Setting
City
City
Students
6,544
6,060
Sports
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Southland Conference
Admission
Admission rate
Not reported
78%
Average SAT
Not reported
1087
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
18–23
Outcomes
Graduation rate
31%
47%
First-year retention
79%
68%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$40,674
$46,453
Median debt
$25,024
$23,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$11,898
$12,493
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,693
$10,482
$30,001–$48,000
$11,147
$11,067
$48,001–$75,000
$13,785
$11,640
$75,001–$110,000
$16,419
$16,190
Over $110,000
$17,324
$18,250
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $87,799
- Allied health $62,909
- Management information systems $59,046
- Accounting $52,363
- Medical assisting $52,264
- Engineering (general) $107,319
- Nursing $85,928
- Accounting $67,331
- Computer science $64,834
- Finance $62,705
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.