Albany State vs Nicholls State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Albany State UniversityAlbany, GACompass Score: GoodB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Nicholls State UniversityThibodaux, LACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Nicholls State has the higher graduation rate: 54% against 31% at Albany State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Nicholls State: $45,454, against $40,674 at Albany State.
- Median debt is lower at Nicholls State: $22,675, against $25,024 at Albany State.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Albany, GA
Thibodaux, LA
Setting
City
City
Students
6,544
6,180
Sports
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division I · Southland Conference
Admission
Admission rate
Not reported
91%
Average SAT
Not reported
1090
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
19–24
Outcomes
Graduation rate
31%
54%
First-year retention
79%
77%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$40,674
$45,454
Median debt
$25,024
$22,675
Cost
Average price after aid
$11,898
$12,947
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,693
$10,714
$30,001–$48,000
$11,147
$10,527
$48,001–$75,000
$13,785
$12,139
$75,001–$110,000
$16,419
$16,784
Over $110,000
$17,324
$17,954
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $87,799
- Allied health $62,909
- Management information systems $59,046
- Accounting $52,363
- Medical assisting $52,264
- Nursing $79,428
- Mining and Petroleum Technologies/Technicians $74,167
- Accounting $66,499
- Management information systems $65,635
- Business administration $54,927
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.