Alcorn State vs University of Montevallo
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Alcorn State UniversityAlcorn State, MSCompass Score: GoodBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.University of MontevalloMontevallo, ALCompass Score: Good · Top 49%
At a glance
- Alcorn State has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 54% at University of Montevallo.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Alcorn State has the lower price after aid: $16,296 a year, against $18,615 at University of Montevallo.
- Alcorn State has the lower average price after aid: about $13,000 a year, against about $18,000 at University of Montevallo.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 49%
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Alcorn State, MS
Montevallo, AL
Setting
Rural
Town
Students
2,894
2,942
Sports
NCAA Division I · Southwestern Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Gulf South Conference
Admission
Admission rate
45%
54%
Average SAT
904
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
15–19
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
54%
First-year retention
77%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$36,421
$42,957
Median debt
$27,000
$24,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $13,000
About $18,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $13,000
About $14,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $12,000
About $16,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $16,000
About $19,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $18,000
About $20,000
Over $110,000
About $18,000
About $22,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $93,159
- Agricultural business $62,499
- Allied health $59,214
- Social work $46,157
- Liberal arts $42,321
- Accounting $57,747
- Marketing $53,492
- Broadcasting $50,497
- Speech-language pathology $49,979
- Finance $48,160
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.