Allen vs Lane
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Allen UniversityColumbia, SCCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Lane CollegeJackson, TNCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Lane has the higher graduation rate: 18% against 13% at Allen.
- Median debt is lower at Lane: $30,500, against $34,290 at Allen.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Columbia, SC
Jackson, TN
Setting
City
City
Students
677
822
Sports
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
73%
Not reported
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
13%
18%
First-year retention
45%
44%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$30,497
$31,670
Median debt
$34,290
$30,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$10,972
$10,904
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,553
$10,904
$30,001–$48,000
$9,375
Not reported
$48,001–$75,000
$12,610
Not reported
$75,001–$110,000
$12,976
Not reported
Over $110,000
$13,298
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $45,474
- Social sciences $38,198
- Liberal arts $35,787
- Biology $29,249
- Criminal justice $45,008
- Biology $43,529
- Secondary education $40,707
- Sociology $34,242
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.