Allen vs Lycoming
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Allen UniversityColumbia, SCCompass Score: SolidBCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Lycoming CollegeWilliamsport, PACompass Score: Good · Top 41%
At a glance
- Lycoming has the higher graduation rate: 60% against 13% at Allen.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Allen has the lower price after aid: $12,610 a year, against $15,883 at Lycoming.
- Allen has the lower average price after aid: $10,972 a year, against $19,140 at Lycoming.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 41%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 29%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
BValue: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Columbia, SC
Williamsport, PA
Setting
City
City
Students
677
1,063
Sports
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Landmark Conference
Admission
Admission rate
73%
74%
Average SAT
Not reported
1160
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
13%
60%
First-year retention
45%
76%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$30,497
$56,210
Median debt
$34,290
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$10,972
$19,140
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,553
$12,151
$30,001–$48,000
$9,375
$14,785
$48,001–$75,000
$12,610
$15,883
$75,001–$110,000
$12,976
$20,435
Over $110,000
$13,298
$26,233
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $45,474
- Social sciences $38,198
- Liberal arts $35,787
- Biology $29,249
- Business administration $66,056
- Biology $64,552
- Criminology $61,144
- Psychology $49,081
- Fine arts $34,936
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.