Allen vs Patrick Henry
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Allen UniversityColumbia, SCCompass Score: SolidA-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Patrick Henry CollegePurcellville, VACompass Score: Excellent · Top 13%
At a glance
- Patrick Henry has the higher graduation rate: 74% against 13% at Allen.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 13%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 14%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Not rated
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Columbia, SC
Purcellville, VA
Setting
City
Town
Students
677
408
Sports
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
73%
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
1352
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
27–33
Outcomes
Graduation rate
13%
74%
First-year retention
45%
88%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$30,497
Not reported
Median debt
$34,290
Not reported
Cost
Average price after aid
$10,972
Not reported
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,553
Not reported
$30,001–$48,000
$9,375
Not reported
$48,001–$75,000
$12,610
Not reported
$75,001–$110,000
$12,976
Not reported
Over $110,000
$13,298
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $45,474
- Social sciences $38,198
- Liberal arts $35,787
- Biology $29,249
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.