College Compass GuideTrue north for every college search.

Allen vs Pillar

What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.

At a glance

  • Pillar has the higher graduation rate: 38% against 13% at Allen.
  • For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Pillar has the lower price after aid: $3,181 a year, against $12,610 at Allen.
  • Pillar has the lower average price after aid: $8,470 a year, against $10,972 at Allen.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 27%
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Columbia, SC
Newark, NJ
Setting
City
City
Students
677
554
Sports
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
73%
Not reported
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
13%
38%
First-year retention
45%
74%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$30,497
$45,577
Median debt
$34,290
$21,483
Cost
Average price after aid
$10,972
$8,470
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,553
$15,139
$30,001–$48,000
$9,375
$7,114
$48,001–$75,000
$12,610
$3,181
$75,001–$110,000
$12,976
$4,411
Over $110,000
$13,298
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
  1. Business administration $45,474
  2. Social sciences $38,198
  3. Liberal arts $35,787
  4. Biology $29,249
  1. Business administration $61,165
  2. Psychology $49,543

Compare with another college

Allen University · Pillar College

The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.

0 school selectedCompare

What would it cost your family?

Pick your family’s yearly income. Each college then shows what families like yours paid on average after grants and scholarships (federal data).

Reach, Target or Likely?

Enter an SAT or ACT to sort every college in this search.

Will you get in?

Enter your SAT or ACT. We compare it with the middle range of students the college admitted.