Allen vs Salem
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Allen UniversityColumbia, SCCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Salem CollegeWinston-Salem, NCCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Salem has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 13% at Allen.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Allen has the lower price after aid: $10,553 a year, against $19,074 at Salem.
- Allen has the lower average price after aid: $10,972 a year, against $18,277 at Salem.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 40%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Columbia, SC
Winston-Salem, NC
Setting
City
City
Students
677
519
Sports
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · USA South Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
73%
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
1082
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
16–22
Outcomes
Graduation rate
13%
57%
First-year retention
45%
68%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$30,497
$44,640
Median debt
$34,290
$26,649
Cost
Average price after aid
$10,972
$18,277
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,553
$19,074
$30,001–$48,000
$9,375
$16,001
$48,001–$75,000
$12,610
$16,147
$75,001–$110,000
$12,976
$19,940
Over $110,000
$13,298
$24,027
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $45,474
- Social sciences $38,198
- Liberal arts $35,787
- Biology $29,249
- Business administration $68,431
- Psychology $49,464
- Education (general) $47,488
- Criminal justice $45,560
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.