Alma vs McMurry
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Alma CollegeAlma, MICompass Score: Very good · Top 32%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.McMurry UniversityAbilene, TXCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Alma has the higher graduation rate: 63% against 44% at McMurry.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Alma: $54,742, against $48,779 at McMurry.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 22%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Alma, MI
Abilene, TX
Setting
Town
City
Students
1,273
2,549
Sports
NCAA Division III · Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association
NCAA Division III · Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
57%
57%
Average SAT
Not reported
1043
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
18–24
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
44%
First-year retention
85%
64%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$54,742
$48,779
Median debt
$27,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,694
$19,581
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,162
$15,946
$30,001–$48,000
$18,009
$16,181
$48,001–$75,000
$18,076
$18,272
$75,001–$110,000
$18,699
$23,285
Over $110,000
$23,618
$27,297
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $80,386
- Accounting $77,001
- Kinesiology and exercise science $63,641
- Business administration $57,287
- Communication studies $53,947
- Business (general) $55,605
- Secondary education $47,035
- Interdisciplinary studies $44,668
- Teacher education $42,638
- Sociology $41,749
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.