American Public University System vs Western Governors
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.American Public University SystemCharles Town, WVCompass Score: Very good · Top 21%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Western Governors UniversitySalt Lake City, UTCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- American Public University System has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 46% at Western Governors.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, American Public University System has the lower price after aid: $8,951 a year, against $12,578 at Western Governors.
- American Public University System has the lower average price after aid: about $10,000 a year, against about $13,000 at Western Governors.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 21%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 30%
A+Value: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 3%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Charles Town, WV
Salt Lake City, UT
Setting
Town
Suburb
Students
50,187
185,015
Sports
Not reported
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
Not reported
Not reported
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
46%
First-year retention
97%
65%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$44,409
$60,615
Median debt
$21,743
$11,116
Cost
Average price after aid
About $10,000
About $13,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $9,000
About $12,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $10,000
About $12,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $9,000
About $13,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $16,000
About $15,000
Over $110,000
Not reported
About $13,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Military Science and Operational Studies $103,706
- Nursing $94,768
- Mechanical engineering technology $89,871
- Fire science $87,428
- Global studies $86,599
- Software and media applications $131,198
- Information technology $129,303
- Computing and information science $108,836
- General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations $107,585
- Nursing $97,114
Compare with another college
American Public University System · Western Governors University
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.