American vs Clark Atlanta
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.American UniversityWashington, DCCompass Score: Excellent · Top 12%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Clark Atlanta UniversityAtlanta, GACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- American has the higher graduation rate: 75% against 49% at Clark Atlanta.
- For families earning up to $30,000, American has the lower price after aid: $23,233 a year, against $37,356 at Clark Atlanta.
- Clark Atlanta has the lower average price after aid: about $38,000 a year, against about $42,000 at American.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 12%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 8%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Washington, DC
Atlanta, GA
Setting
City
City
Students
13,019
4,135
Sports
NCAA Division I · Patriot League
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
62%
64%
Average SAT
1381
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
29–32
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
75%
49%
First-year retention
88%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$77,370
$42,712
Median debt
$22,750
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $42,000
About $38,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $23,000
About $37,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $20,000
About $39,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $26,000
About $39,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $30,000
About $40,000
Over $110,000
About $54,000
About $39,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Finance $134,332
- Accounting $119,020
- Computer science $117,293
- Business administration $88,359
- Economics $85,016
- Social work $54,657
- Business administration $53,911
- Criminal justice $47,012
- Biology $45,413
- Psychology $45,368
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.