American vs The New School
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.American UniversityWashington, DCCompass Score: Excellent · Top 12%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.The New SchoolNew York, NYCompass Score: Very good · Top 28%
At a glance
- American has the higher graduation rate: 75% against 69% at The New School.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, American has the lower price after aid: $26,035 a year, against $56,494 at The New School.
- American has the lower average price after aid: $41,943 a year, against $58,741 at The New School.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 12%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 28%
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 8%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 12%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Washington, DC
New York, NY
Setting
City
City
Students
13,019
9,434
Sports
NCAA Division I · Patriot League
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
62%
63%
Average SAT
1381
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
29–32
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
75%
69%
First-year retention
88%
85%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$77,370
$52,901
Median debt
$22,750
$22,266
Cost
Average price after aid
$41,943
$58,741
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$23,233
$50,140
$30,001–$48,000
$20,444
$52,812
$48,001–$75,000
$26,035
$56,494
$75,001–$110,000
$30,063
$59,894
Over $110,000
$53,673
$64,738
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Finance $134,332
- Accounting $119,020
- Computer science $117,293
- Business administration $88,359
- Economics $85,016
- Software and media applications $75,792
- Arts management $74,936
- Broadcasting $64,018
- Liberal arts $62,976
- Design $56,838
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.