Ashford vs Liberty
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Ashford UniversitySan Diego, CACompass Score: SolidBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Liberty UniversityLynchburg, VACompass Score: Good · Top 47%
At a glance
- Liberty has the higher graduation rate: 65% against 11% at Ashford.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Liberty has the lower price after aid: $27,347 a year, against $33,319 at Ashford.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Liberty: $44,813, against $35,404 at Ashford.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
San Diego, CA
Lynchburg, VA
Setting
City
City
Students
32,604
103,068
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division I · Conference USA
Admission
Admission rate
Not reported
99%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
11%
65%
First-year retention
35%
80%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$35,404
$44,813
Median debt
$31,250
$24,500
Cost
Average price after aid
$31,266
$29,357
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$31,009
$30,667
$30,001–$48,000
$31,862
$27,807
$48,001–$75,000
$33,319
$27,347
$75,001–$110,000
$32,953
$27,142
Over $110,000
$33,593
$30,545
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- International business $81,292
- Management information systems $77,907
- Business administration $71,782
- Instructional design $68,414
- Public administration $68,344
- Air Transportation $102,096
- Industrial Engineering $94,928
- Electrical engineering $89,244
- Mechanical engineering $89,129
- Management information systems $84,228
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.