Assumption vs Merrimack
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Assumption UniversityWorcester, MACompass Score: Very good · Top 26%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Merrimack CollegeNorth Andover, MACompass Score: Very good · Top 34%
At a glance
- Assumption has the higher graduation rate: 75% against 70% at Merrimack.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Assumption has the lower price after aid: $19,885 a year, against $31,710 at Merrimack.
- Assumption has the lower average price after aid: $29,498 a year, against $37,927 at Merrimack.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 26%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 13%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Worcester, MA
North Andover, MA
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
2,046
5,688
Sports
NCAA Division II · Northeast 10 Conference
NCAA Division I · Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
83%
70%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
75%
70%
First-year retention
84%
79%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$74,895
$75,584
Median debt
$27,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$29,498
$37,927
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$19,885
$31,710
$30,001–$48,000
$23,632
$29,417
$48,001–$75,000
$25,471
$31,962
$75,001–$110,000
$25,961
$36,045
Over $110,000
$33,463
$41,050
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Economics $90,662
- Accounting $87,681
- Biology $83,706
- Marketing $75,091
- Public relations $74,900
- Computer science $114,115
- Civil engineering $90,714
- Mechanical engineering $85,545
- Biology $79,581
- Physiology and pathology $74,379
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.