Augustana vs Morningside
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Augustana UniversitySioux Falls, SDCompass Score: Excellent · Top 21%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Morningside UniversitySioux City, IACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Augustana has the higher graduation rate: 73% against 50% at Morningside.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Augustana has the lower price after aid: $18,746 a year, against $33,738 at Morningside.
- Augustana has the lower average price after aid: $23,894 a year, against $31,320 at Morningside.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 21%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 15%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 45%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Sioux Falls, SD
Sioux City, IA
Setting
City
City
Students
2,158
2,158
Sports
NCAA Division II · Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference
NAIA · Great Plains Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
68%
71%
Average SAT
1195
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
21–27
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
73%
50%
First-year retention
86%
74%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$59,217
$55,494
Median debt
$25,000
$26,028
Cost
Average price after aid
$23,894
$31,320
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,746
$33,738
$30,001–$48,000
$18,895
$21,201
$48,001–$75,000
$17,937
$19,124
$75,001–$110,000
$24,787
$20,575
Over $110,000
$27,327
$41,981
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $77,844
- Accounting $68,523
- Business administration $68,463
- Biology $67,630
- Kinesiology and exercise science $58,906
- Nursing $84,033
- Agricultural and Food Products Processing $66,368
- Biology $62,400
- Business administration $61,940
- Secondary education $56,166
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.