Aurora vs Barry
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Aurora UniversityAurora, ILCompass Score: Good · Top 47%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Barry UniversityMiami, FLCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Aurora has the higher graduation rate: 60% against 38% at Barry.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Aurora has the lower price after aid: $14,525 a year, against $20,804 at Barry.
- Aurora has the lower average price after aid: $18,838 a year, against $22,613 at Barry.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 47%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): the rest of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 29%
B-Value: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Aurora, IL
Miami, FL
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
5,935
6,836
Sports
NCAA Division III · Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference
NCAA Division II · Sunshine State Conference
Admission
Admission rate
81%
77%
Average SAT
1076
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
21–29
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
38%
First-year retention
77%
63%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,709
$55,966
Median debt
$20,318
$26,997
Cost
Average price after aid
$18,838
$22,613
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$14,525
$20,804
$30,001–$48,000
$14,089
$21,485
$48,001–$75,000
$15,431
$21,524
$75,001–$110,000
$19,300
$25,690
Over $110,000
$24,595
$29,180
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $90,089
- Nursing $84,022
- Finance $77,436
- Accounting $74,820
- Marketing $64,813
- Allied health $134,968
- Public administration $97,702
- Nursing $93,608
- Health administration $89,971
- Computing and information science $65,951
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.