Austin vs Oakwood
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Austin CollegeSherman, TXCompass Score: Excellent · Top 19%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Oakwood UniversityHuntsville, ALCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Austin has the higher graduation rate: 67% against 45% at Oakwood.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Austin has the lower price after aid: $16,528 a year, against $23,999 at Oakwood.
- Austin has the lower average price after aid: $21,107 a year, against $25,669 at Oakwood.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 43%
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Sherman, TX
Huntsville, AL
Setting
City
City
Students
1,136
1,319
Sports
NCAA Division III · Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference
NAIA · HBCU Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
48%
45%
Average SAT
1212
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
23–29
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
67%
45%
First-year retention
79%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$61,296
$42,488
Median debt
$24,500
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$21,107
$25,669
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,528
$23,999
$30,001–$48,000
$15,687
$22,444
$48,001–$75,000
$18,823
$24,501
$75,001–$110,000
$21,608
$28,074
Over $110,000
$28,470
$27,219
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Finance $81,613
- Computer science $76,196
- Economics $67,071
- History $59,833
- Interdisciplinary studies $58,913
- Human resources $62,069
- Liberal arts $55,834
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.