Ave Maria vs Dillard
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Ave Maria UniversityAve Maria, FLCompass Score: Good · Top 36%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Dillard UniversityNew Orleans, LACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Ave Maria has the higher graduation rate: 54% against 43% at Dillard.
- Dillard has the lower average price after aid: $22,094 a year, against $24,860 at Ave Maria.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Ave Maria: $49,520, against $39,196 at Dillard.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Ave Maria, FL
New Orleans, LA
Setting
Rural
City
Students
1,335
1,122
Sports
NAIA · The Sun Conference
NAIA · HBCU Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
41%
42%
Average SAT
Not reported
1050
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
18–22
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
43%
First-year retention
79%
78%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,520
$39,196
Median debt
$20,776
$31,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$24,860
$22,094
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,761
$19,819
$30,001–$48,000
$20,840
$21,094
$48,001–$75,000
$23,790
$23,224
$75,001–$110,000
$24,088
$26,032
Over $110,000
$27,107
$27,019
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $71,237
- Liberal arts $67,139
- Business administration $63,839
- Psychology $49,235
- Theology $42,457
- Nursing $90,661
- Criminal justice $49,687
- Business administration $49,546
- Communication studies $49,103
- Public health $47,641
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.