Ave Maria vs Hampden-Sydney
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Ave Maria UniversityAve Maria, FLCompass Score: Good · Top 36%A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hampden-Sydney CollegeHampden-Sydney, VACompass Score: Excellent · Top 18%
At a glance
- Hampden-Sydney has the higher graduation rate: 62% against 54% at Ave Maria.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Hampden-Sydney has the lower price after aid: $17,547 a year, against $23,790 at Ave Maria.
- Hampden-Sydney has the lower average price after aid: $22,400 a year, against $24,860 at Ave Maria.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 18%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 18%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 42%
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Ave Maria, FL
Hampden-Sydney, VA
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
1,335
876
Sports
NAIA · The Sun Conference
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
41%
41%
Average SAT
Not reported
1207
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
23–28
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
62%
First-year retention
79%
84%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,520
$67,640
Median debt
$20,776
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$24,860
$22,400
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,761
$13,422
$30,001–$48,000
$20,840
$12,458
$48,001–$75,000
$23,790
$17,547
$75,001–$110,000
$24,088
$22,600
Over $110,000
$27,107
$32,133
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $71,237
- Liberal arts $67,139
- Business administration $63,839
- Psychology $49,235
- Theology $42,457
- Managerial economics $87,835
- Economics $68,795
- Political science $68,731
- Biology $62,515
- History $48,625
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.