Ave Maria vs Oakwood
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Ave Maria UniversityAve Maria, FLCompass Score: Good · Top 36%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Oakwood UniversityHuntsville, ALCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Ave Maria has the higher graduation rate: 54% against 45% at Oakwood.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Ave Maria has the lower price after aid: $18,761 a year, against $23,999 at Oakwood.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Ave Maria: $49,520, against $42,488 at Oakwood.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Ave Maria, FL
Huntsville, AL
Setting
Rural
City
Students
1,335
1,319
Sports
NAIA · The Sun Conference
NAIA · HBCU Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
41%
45%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
45%
First-year retention
79%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,520
$42,488
Median debt
$20,776
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $25,000
About $26,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $19,000
About $24,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $21,000
About $22,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $24,000
About $25,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $24,000
About $28,000
Over $110,000
About $27,000
About $27,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $71,237
- Liberal arts $67,139
- Business administration $63,839
- Psychology $49,235
- Theology $42,457
- Human resources $62,069
- Liberal arts $55,834
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.