Ave Maria vs Southwestern
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Ave Maria UniversityAve Maria, FLCompass Score: Good · Top 36%A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Southwestern UniversityGeorgetown, TXCompass Score: Excellent · Top 15%
At a glance
- Southwestern has the higher graduation rate: 73% against 54% at Ave Maria.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Ave Maria has the lower price after aid: $23,790 a year, against $28,175 at Southwestern.
- Ave Maria has the lower average price after aid: about $25,000 a year, against about $29,000 at Southwestern.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 15%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 14%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Ave Maria, FL
Georgetown, TX
Setting
Rural
City
Students
1,335
1,457
Sports
NAIA · The Sun Conference
NCAA Division III · Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
41%
43%
Average SAT
Not reported
1241
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
26–30
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
73%
First-year retention
79%
81%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,520
$56,878
Median debt
$20,776
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $25,000
About $29,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $19,000
About $22,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $21,000
About $19,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $24,000
About $28,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $24,000
About $30,000
Over $110,000
About $27,000
About $36,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $71,237
- Liberal arts $67,139
- Business administration $63,839
- Psychology $49,235
- Theology $42,457
- Business (general) $71,342
- Biology $62,928
- Political science $61,935
- Communication studies $59,372
- Education (general) $52,035
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.