Ave Maria vs St. Thomas
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Ave Maria UniversityAve Maria, FLCompass Score: Good · Top 36%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.St. Thomas UniversityMiami Gardens, FLCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Ave Maria has the higher graduation rate: 54% against 48% at St. Thomas.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Ave Maria has the lower price after aid: $18,761 a year, against $24,657 at St. Thomas.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at St. Thomas: $54,272, against $49,520 at Ave Maria.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 40%
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
National universities
Location
Ave Maria, FL
Miami Gardens, FL
Setting
Rural
Suburb
Students
1,335
6,455
Sports
NAIA · The Sun Conference
NAIA · The Sun Conference
Admission
Admission rate
41%
98%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
54%
48%
First-year retention
79%
57%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,520
$54,272
Median debt
$20,776
$19,125
Cost
Average price after aid
$24,860
$26,312
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,761
$24,657
$30,001–$48,000
$20,840
$26,101
$48,001–$75,000
$23,790
$27,122
$75,001–$110,000
$24,088
$29,081
Over $110,000
$27,107
$30,098
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $71,237
- Liberal arts $67,139
- Business administration $63,839
- Psychology $49,235
- Theology $42,457
- Accounting $69,432
- Business administration $63,852
- Criminal justice $54,337
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.