Avila vs Chestnut Hill
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Avila UniversityKansas City, MOCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Chestnut Hill CollegePhiladelphia, PACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Avila has the higher graduation rate: 52% against 49% at Chestnut Hill.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Avila has the lower price after aid: $15,694 a year, against $28,011 at Chestnut Hill.
- Avila has the lower average price after aid: $16,053 a year, against $27,970 at Chestnut Hill.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 42%
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Kansas City, MO
Philadelphia, PA
Setting
City
City
Students
1,733
1,402
Sports
NAIA · Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference
Admission
Admission rate
88%
74%
Average SAT
972
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
16–21
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
49%
First-year retention
71%
62%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$52,773
$52,015
Median debt
$25,000
$26,389
Cost
Average price after aid
$16,053
$27,970
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$15,694
$28,011
$30,001–$48,000
$14,939
$24,447
$48,001–$75,000
$14,682
$22,714
$75,001–$110,000
$17,852
$28,168
Over $110,000
$19,775
$33,175
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business (general) $83,385
- Nursing $74,562
- Allied health $68,865
- Psychology $50,905
- Communication studies $48,148
- Accounting $80,579
- Business administration $66,885
- Security science $60,744
- Criminal justice $57,831
- Teacher education $51,339
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.