Barry vs St. Thomas
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Barry UniversityMiami, FLCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.St. Thomas UniversityMiami Gardens, FLCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- St. Thomas has the higher graduation rate: 48% against 38% at Barry.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Barry has the lower price after aid: $21,524 a year, against $27,122 at St. Thomas.
- Barry has the lower average price after aid: $22,613 a year, against $26,312 at St. Thomas.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Miami, FL
Miami Gardens, FL
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
6,836
6,455
Sports
NCAA Division II · Sunshine State Conference
NAIA · The Sun Conference
Admission
Admission rate
77%
98%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
38%
48%
First-year retention
63%
57%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$55,966
$54,272
Median debt
$26,997
$19,125
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,613
$26,312
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$20,804
$24,657
$30,001–$48,000
$21,485
$26,101
$48,001–$75,000
$21,524
$27,122
$75,001–$110,000
$25,690
$29,081
Over $110,000
$29,180
$30,098
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Allied health $134,968
- Public administration $97,702
- Nursing $93,608
- Health administration $89,971
- Computing and information science $65,951
- Accounting $69,432
- Business administration $63,852
- Criminal justice $54,337
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.