Bennington vs Oakwood
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Bennington CollegeBennington, VTCompass Score: Excellent · Top 13%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Oakwood UniversityHuntsville, ALCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Bennington has the higher graduation rate: 71% against 45% at Oakwood.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Bennington has the lower price after aid: $18,480 a year, against $23,999 at Oakwood.
- Oakwood has the lower average price after aid: $25,669 a year, against $30,947 at Bennington.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 13%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 9%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Bennington, VT
Huntsville, AL
Setting
Town
City
Students
867
1,319
Sports
Not reported
NAIA · HBCU Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
45%
45%
Average SAT
1364
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
30–32
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
71%
45%
First-year retention
82%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$38,289
$42,488
Median debt
$26,000
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$30,947
$25,669
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$18,480
$23,999
$30,001–$48,000
$18,012
$22,444
$48,001–$75,000
$22,336
$24,501
$75,001–$110,000
$25,508
$28,074
Over $110,000
$44,625
$27,219
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Visual and performing arts $39,958
- Music $26,241
- Theatre $23,575
- Human resources $62,069
- Liberal arts $55,834
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.