Berea vs Hillsdale
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Berea CollegeBerea, KYCompass Score: Exceptional · Top 9%A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hillsdale CollegeHillsdale, MICompass Score: Exceptional · Top 2%
At a glance
- Hillsdale has the higher graduation rate: 90% against 58% at Berea.
Scores
Compass Score
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 9%
A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 19%
A+Academic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
Value
AValue: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 8%
Not rated
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Berea, KY
Hillsdale, MI
Setting
Town
Town
Students
1,487
1,823
Sports
NCAA Division III · Collegiate Conference of the South
NCAA Division II · Great Midwest Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
19%
21%
Average SAT
1249
1415
ACT middle 50%
23–28
30–33
Outcomes
Graduation rate
58%
90%
First-year retention
79%
97%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$43,150
Not reported
Median debt
$3,591
Not reported
Cost
Average price after aid
$6,106
Not reported
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$5,428
Not reported
$30,001–$48,000
$4,598
Not reported
$48,001–$75,000
$8,132
Not reported
$75,001–$110,000
$7,570
Not reported
Over $110,000
$13,700
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computing and information science $82,491
- Engineering Technologies/Technicians $55,830
- Business (general) $52,456
- Communication studies $41,723
- Psychology $40,768
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.