Bethune-Cookman vs Virginia Union
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Bethune-Cookman UniversityDaytona Beach, FLCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Virginia Union UniversityRichmond, VACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Virginia Union has the higher graduation rate: 34% against 31% at Bethune-Cookman.
- Median debt is lower at Virginia Union: $29,000, against $31,000 at Bethune-Cookman.
- Bethune-Cookman admits 88% of applicants, and Virginia Union admits 98%.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Daytona Beach, FL
Richmond, VA
Setting
City
City
Students
2,515
1,662
Sports
NCAA Division I · Southwestern Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Admission
Admission rate
88%
98%
Average SAT
880
850
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
31%
34%
First-year retention
62%
67%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$38,518
$38,275
Median debt
$31,000
$29,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $12,000
About $13,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $11,000
About $11,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $11,000
About $12,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $14,000
About $14,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $18,000
About $21,000
Over $110,000
About $19,000
About $18,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $76,641
- Gerontology $51,623
- Business administration $50,413
- Criminal justice $46,540
- Liberal arts $42,127
- General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations $64,924
- Psychology $50,826
- Criminology $49,024
- Computing and information science $45,214
- Communication studies $42,376
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.