Biola vs Shenandoah
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Biola UniversityLa Mirada, CACompass Score: Very good · Top 26%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Shenandoah UniversityWinchester, VACompass Score: Good · Top 37%
At a glance
- For families earning up to $30,000, Shenandoah has the lower price after aid: $24,356 a year, against $27,144 at Biola.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 26%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 37%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 23%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 20%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
La Mirada, CA
Winchester, VA
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
5,296
4,343
Sports
NCAA Division II · Pacific West Conference
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
74%
77%
Average SAT
1261
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
24–29
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
68%
67%
First-year retention
84%
82%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$56,778
$58,433
Median debt
$23,875
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$31,495
$30,298
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$27,144
$24,356
$30,001–$48,000
$25,410
$26,715
$48,001–$75,000
$26,825
$26,635
$75,001–$110,000
$29,846
$30,332
Over $110,000
$37,314
$33,591
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $111,200
- Accounting $91,330
- Computer science $78,943
- Business (general) $69,873
- Speech-language pathology $69,087
- Nursing $91,096
- Business administration $66,673
- Biology $66,070
- Kinesiology and exercise science $64,373
- Criminal justice $63,290
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.