Black Hills State vs Western Oregon
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Black Hills State UniversitySpearfish, SDCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Western Oregon UniversityMonmouth, ORCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Western Oregon has the higher graduation rate: 47% against 43% at Black Hills State.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Black Hills State has the lower price after aid: $11,863 a year, against $15,575 at Western Oregon.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Western Oregon: $51,815, against $46,674 at Black Hills State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Spearfish, SD
Monmouth, OR
Setting
Town
Town
Students
3,475
3,857
Sports
NCAA Division II · Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Great Northwest Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
96%
98%
Average SAT
1087
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
18–24
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
47%
First-year retention
72%
73%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$46,674
$51,815
Median debt
$26,000
$20,609
Cost
Average price after aid
About $16,000
About $17,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $12,000
About $16,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $13,000
About $15,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $16,000
About $16,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $18,000
About $18,000
Over $110,000
About $19,000
About $20,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $69,079
- Business administration $59,626
- Kinesiology and exercise science $55,622
- Secondary education $52,883
- Sociology $49,833
- Computing and information science $90,324
- Criminal justice $60,363
- Business (general) $59,599
- Teacher education $54,761
- Kinesiology and exercise science $54,540
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.