Blackburn vs Mid-Atlantic Christian
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Blackburn CollegeCarlinville, ILCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mid-Atlantic Christian UniversityElizabeth City, NCCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Blackburn has the higher graduation rate: 57% against 21% at Mid-Atlantic Christian.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Blackburn has the lower price after aid: $12,329 a year, against $17,385 at Mid-Atlantic Christian.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Blackburn: $46,802, against $38,342 at Mid-Atlantic Christian.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Carlinville, IL
Elizabeth City, NC
Setting
Town
Town
Students
389
177
Sports
NCAA Division III · St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
63%
62%
Average SAT
Not reported
1000
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
57%
21%
First-year retention
67%
32%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$46,802
$38,342
Median debt
$24,242
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $18,000
About $18,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $17,000
About $18,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $15,000
About $16,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $12,000
About $17,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $23,000
About $21,000
Over $110,000
About $23,000
About $20,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Biology $54,587
- Business administration $46,283
- Criminal justice $46,004
- Missions/Missionary Studies and Missiology $32,383
- Bible/Biblical Studies $26,873
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.