Blue Mountain Christian vs Ferrum
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Blue Mountain Christian UniversityBlue Mountain, MSCompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Ferrum CollegeFerrum, VACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Blue Mountain Christian has the higher graduation rate: 55% against 32% at Ferrum.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Ferrum has the lower price after aid: $16,940 a year, against $23,112 at Blue Mountain Christian.
- Ferrum has the lower average price after aid: $20,082 a year, against $24,016 at Blue Mountain Christian.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Blue Mountain, MS
Ferrum, VA
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
971
767
Sports
NAIA · Southern States Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · Old Dominion Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
89%
89%
Average SAT
1090
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
19–24
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
32%
First-year retention
68%
64%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$40,421
$44,296
Median debt
$18,534
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$24,016
$20,082
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$23,112
$16,940
$30,001–$48,000
$23,791
$16,493
$48,001–$75,000
$24,721
$19,967
$75,001–$110,000
$26,722
$22,505
Over $110,000
Not reported
$24,346
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $49,805
- Teacher education $39,440
- Psychology $33,003
- Criminal justice $60,235
- Accounting $60,070
- Natural resources and conservation $49,527
- Secondary education $42,664
- Health sciences $42,229
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.