Blue Mountain Christian vs Hiram
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Blue Mountain Christian UniversityBlue Mountain, MSCompass Score: GoodB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hiram CollegeHiram, OHCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- For families earning up to $30,000, Hiram has the lower price after aid: $16,550 a year, against $23,112 at Blue Mountain Christian.
- Hiram has the lower average price after aid: about $21,000 a year, against about $24,000 at Blue Mountain Christian.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Hiram: $54,311, against $40,421 at Blue Mountain Christian.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 36%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Blue Mountain, MS
Hiram, OH
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
971
1,011
Sports
NAIA · Southern States Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · North Coast Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
89%
94%
Average SAT
1090
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
19–24
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
55%
First-year retention
68%
72%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$40,421
$54,311
Median debt
$18,534
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
About $24,000
About $21,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $23,000
About $17,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $24,000
About $16,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $25,000
About $19,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $27,000
About $22,000
Over $110,000
Not reported
About $27,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Business administration $49,805
- Teacher education $39,440
- Psychology $33,003
- Nursing $75,185
- Accounting $58,941
- Business administration $55,501
- Biology $53,290
- Sociology $39,277
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.