Bluefield State vs Miami University-Middletown
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Bluefield State UniversityBluefield, WVCompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Miami University-MiddletownMiddletown, OHCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Bluefield State has the higher graduation rate: 37% against 32% at Miami University-Middletown.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Miami University-Middletown has the lower price after aid: $10,126 a year, against $14,630 at Bluefield State.
- Miami University-Middletown has the lower average price after aid: $10,809 a year, against $13,684 at Bluefield State.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 16%
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Bluefield, WV
Middletown, OH
Setting
Town
Suburb
Students
1,270
1,213
Sports
NCAA Division II · Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
97%
Not reported
Average SAT
989
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
17–22
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
37%
32%
First-year retention
55%
67%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$38,217
$55,076
Median debt
$18,250
$23,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$13,684
$10,809
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$11,810
$7,452
$30,001–$48,000
$10,703
$8,415
$48,001–$75,000
$14,630
$10,126
$75,001–$110,000
$17,058
$13,331
Over $110,000
$16,242
$13,354
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $82,760
- Allied health $67,441
- Criminal justice $42,085
- Liberal arts $40,711
- Social sciences $40,355
- Computing and information science $94,001
- Engineering Technologies/Technicians $89,862
- Marketing $86,919
- Broadcasting $82,411
- Public relations $79,710
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.