Bluefield vs East Texas Baptist
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Bluefield UniversityBluefield, VACompass Score: SolidB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.East Texas Baptist UniversityMarshall, TXCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- East Texas Baptist has the higher graduation rate: 47% against 18% at Bluefield.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, East Texas Baptist has the lower price after aid: $20,141 a year, against $25,732 at Bluefield.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at East Texas Baptist: $52,788, against $48,896 at Bluefield.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Bluefield, VA
Marshall, TX
Setting
Town
Town
Students
989
1,833
Sports
NAIA · Appalachian Athletic Conference
NCAA Division III · American Southwest Conference
Admission
Admission rate
59%
58%
Average SAT
Not reported
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
18%
47%
First-year retention
61%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$48,896
$52,788
Median debt
$21,855
$23,250
Cost
Average price after aid
About $26,000
About $24,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $26,000
About $20,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $25,000
About $20,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $26,000
About $20,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $25,000
About $25,000
Over $110,000
About $25,000
About $29,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Nursing $91,278
- Business administration $63,715
- Criminal justice $56,811
- Human services $43,789
- Kinesiology and exercise science $41,595
- Business administration $46,855
- Interdisciplinary studies $40,577
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.