Bluffton vs Chowan
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Bluffton UniversityBluffton, OHCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Chowan UniversityMurfreesboro, NCCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Bluffton has the higher graduation rate: 53% against 30% at Chowan.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Chowan has the lower price after aid: $14,549 a year, against $18,469 at Bluffton.
- Chowan has the lower average price after aid: $14,086 a year, against $19,943 at Bluffton.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Bluffton, OH
Murfreesboro, NC
Setting
Rural
Rural
Students
678
708
Sports
NCAA Division III · Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Conference Carolinas
Admission
Admission rate
67%
69%
Average SAT
976
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
16–22
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
30%
First-year retention
60%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$49,547
$38,412
Median debt
$27,000
$29,491
Cost
Average price after aid
$19,943
$14,086
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$16,363
$13,726
$30,001–$48,000
$16,689
$10,950
$48,001–$75,000
$18,469
$14,549
$75,001–$110,000
$21,233
$14,565
Over $110,000
$26,321
$19,713
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Human resources $76,243
- Accounting $62,315
- Business administration $57,308
- Social work $55,073
- Foods, Nutrition, $47,378
- Business administration $54,889
- Criminal justice $44,858
- Social sciences $44,793
- Kinesiology and exercise science $44,711
- Interdisciplinary studies $39,224
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.