Bridgewater State vs Empire State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Bridgewater State UniversityBridgewater, MACompass Score: GoodB-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Empire State UniversitySaratoga Springs, NYCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Bridgewater State has the higher graduation rate: 53% against 41% at Empire State.
- Empire State has the lower average price after aid: $11,676 a year, against $16,383 at Bridgewater State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Bridgewater State: $57,466, against $54,080 at Empire State.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 42%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 12%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Bridgewater, MA
Saratoga Springs, NY
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
9,550
9,545
Sports
NCAA Division III · Massachusetts State College Athletic Association
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
88%
Not reported
Average SAT
1180
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
25–30
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
41%
First-year retention
75%
66%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$57,466
$54,080
Median debt
$24,286
$18,730
Cost
Average price after aid
$16,383
$11,676
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$10,007
$8,989
$30,001–$48,000
$11,579
$10,507
$48,001–$75,000
$13,559
$14,812
$75,001–$110,000
$16,904
$16,481
Over $110,000
$21,176
$19,679
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $87,099
- Chemistry $80,287
- Accounting $79,315
- Economics $70,473
- Air Transportation $70,215
- Nursing $102,384
- Other public administration and social service professions $72,188
- Other physical sciences $71,805
- Biological and physical sciences $71,066
- Business (general) $69,365
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.