Brigham Young University-Hawaii vs Point
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Brigham Young University-HawaiiLaie, HICompass Score: Very good · Top 33%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Point UniversityWest Point, GACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Brigham Young University-Hawaii has the higher graduation rate: 53% against 34% at Point.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Brigham Young University-Hawaii has the lower price after aid: $11,623 a year, against $23,992 at Point.
- Brigham Young University-Hawaii has the lower average price after aid: about $17,000 a year, against about $25,000 at Point.
Scores
Compass Score
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 11%
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional colleges
Regional colleges
Location
Laie, HI
West Point, GA
Setting
Town
Town
Students
2,836
2,827
Sports
Not reported
NAIA · Appalachian Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
47%
44%
Average SAT
1130
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
21–25
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
53%
34%
First-year retention
74%
74%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$52,064
$38,740
Median debt
$9,413
$25,250
Cost
Average price after aid
About $17,000
About $25,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $12,000
About $24,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $21,000
About $24,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $16,000
About $26,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $17,000
About $27,000
Over $110,000
About $23,000
About $27,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
Not reported
- Teacher education $55,626
- Business administration $50,094
- Family and human development $43,682
- Clinical and counseling psychology $40,621
- Bible/Biblical Studies $38,672
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.