Bucknell vs Hillsdale
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Bucknell UniversityLewisburg, PACompass Score: Exceptional · Top 6%A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Hillsdale CollegeHillsdale, MICompass Score: Exceptional · Top 2%
At a glance
- Hillsdale has the higher graduation rate: 90% against 86% at Bucknell.
- Bucknell admits 29% of applicants, and Hillsdale admits 21%.
Scores
Compass Score
ACompass Score: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 6%
A+Compass Score: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
Academic Excellence
AAcademic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A): the top 10% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 4%
A+Academic Excellence: Exceptional (grade A+): the top 3% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 2%
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Not rated
The college
Category
Liberal arts colleges
Liberal arts colleges
Location
Lewisburg, PA
Hillsdale, MI
Setting
Town
Town
Students
3,892
1,823
Sports
NCAA Division I · Patriot League
NCAA Division II · Great Midwest Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
29%
21%
Average SAT
1410
1415
ACT middle 50%
30–33
30–33
Outcomes
Graduation rate
86%
90%
First-year retention
94%
97%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$93,807
Not reported
Median debt
$27,000
Not reported
Cost
Average price after aid
$40,766
Not reported
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$20,980
Not reported
$30,001–$48,000
$12,276
Not reported
$48,001–$75,000
$23,679
Not reported
$75,001–$110,000
$28,165
Not reported
Over $110,000
$55,724
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer engineering $156,885
- Accounting $130,990
- Computing and information science $122,651
- Economics $108,422
- Mechanical engineering $99,860
Not reported
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.