California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt vs Columbus State
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.California State Polytechnic University-HumboldtArcata, CACompass Score: GoodC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Columbus State UniversityColumbus, GACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt has the higher graduation rate: 49% against 42% at Columbus State.
- For families earning up to $30,000, California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt has the lower price after aid: $8,483 a year, against $11,271 at Columbus State.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt: $47,626, against $44,544 at Columbus State.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 42%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Arcata, CA
Columbus, GA
Setting
Town
City
Students
6,156
7,610
Sports
NCAA Division II · California Collegiate Athletic Association
NCAA Division II · Peach Belt Conference
Admission
Admission rate
98%
99%
Average SAT
Not reported
977
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
16–22
Outcomes
Graduation rate
49%
42%
First-year retention
76%
70%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$47,626
$44,544
Median debt
$18,000
$26,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$13,171
$13,115
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$8,483
$11,271
$30,001–$48,000
$8,812
$11,873
$48,001–$75,000
$11,088
$13,786
$75,001–$110,000
$15,593
$16,542
Over $110,000
$22,228
$18,329
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Forestry $79,849
- Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering $78,225
- Computer science $74,620
- Economics $61,175
- Business administration $60,005
- Nursing $89,659
- Computing and information science $80,694
- Finance $65,380
- Management information systems $63,514
- Accounting $61,389
Compare with another college
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt · Columbus State University
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.