Calvin vs Mount Saint Mary's
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Calvin UniversityGrand Rapids, MICompass Score: Excellent · Top 18%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mount Saint Mary's UniversityLos Angeles, CACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Calvin has the higher graduation rate: 74% against 53% at Mount Saint Mary's.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Calvin has the lower price after aid: $19,281 a year, against $23,849 at Mount Saint Mary's.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Mount Saint Mary's: $72,379, against $58,375 at Calvin.
Scores
Compass Score
A-Compass Score: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 18%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 16%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
Los Angeles, CA
Setting
City
City
Students
3,364
2,308
Sports
NCAA Division III · Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
71%
73%
Average SAT
1233
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
24–30
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
74%
53%
First-year retention
87%
71%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$58,375
$72,379
Median debt
$23,250
$25,949
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,992
$21,413
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$19,281
$23,849
$30,001–$48,000
$18,330
$13,718
$48,001–$75,000
$19,447
$17,876
$75,001–$110,000
$21,128
$30,247
Over $110,000
$26,713
$18,762
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Computer science $95,410
- Engineering (general) $82,326
- Accounting $75,085
- Nursing $74,810
- Business administration $73,155
- Nursing $119,050
- Pre-health $105,024
- Accounting $74,449
- Business administration $63,194
- Sociology $59,575
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.