Canisius vs Spring Hill
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Canisius UniversityBuffalo, NYCompass Score: Good · Top 37%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.Spring Hill CollegeMobile, ALCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Canisius has the higher graduation rate: 66% against 52% at Spring Hill.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Canisius has the lower price after aid: $16,151 a year, against $22,317 at Spring Hill.
- Canisius has the lower average price after aid: $17,940 a year, against $20,449 at Spring Hill.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 37%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 29%
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): the top 55% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 48%
Value
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F. Top 33%
B-Value: Good (grade B-): the top 75% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank, so no college gets a D or an F.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional colleges
Location
Buffalo, NY
Mobile, AL
Setting
City
City
Students
2,545
977
Sports
NCAA Division I · Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
72%
77%
Average SAT
Not reported
1120
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
17–29
Outcomes
Graduation rate
66%
52%
First-year retention
73%
70%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$60,681
$51,500
Median debt
$24,250
$27,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$17,940
$20,449
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$12,781
$15,598
$30,001–$48,000
$12,404
$20,141
$48,001–$75,000
$16,151
$22,317
$75,001–$110,000
$21,341
$20,642
Over $110,000
$24,170
$26,240
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Accounting $82,563
- Finance $70,001
- Marketing $66,256
- Economics $65,757
- Business administration $62,955
- Nursing $72,755
- Business administration $69,108
- Sociology $56,160
- Health sciences $52,874
- Communication studies $49,227
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.