Capella vs Grand Canyon
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Capella UniversityMinneapolis, MNCompass Score: SolidC+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Grand Canyon UniversityPhoenix, AZCompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Grand Canyon has the higher graduation rate: 43% against 20% at Capella.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Capella has the lower price after aid: $17,490 a year, against $21,712 at Grand Canyon.
- Capella has the lower average price after aid: about $18,000 a year, against about $22,000 at Grand Canyon.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 45%
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
National universities
National universities
Location
Minneapolis, MN
Phoenix, AZ
Setting
City
City
Students
43,915
107,563
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division I · Western Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
Not reported
79%
Average SAT
Not reported
1077
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
20–22
Outcomes
Graduation rate
20%
43%
First-year retention
42%
72%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$42,189
$42,186
Median debt
$14,968
$22,114
Cost
Average price after aid
About $18,000
About $22,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $17,000
About $19,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $17,000
About $19,000
$48,001–$75,000
About $17,000
About $22,000
$75,001–$110,000
About $21,000
About $24,000
Over $110,000
About $23,000
About $26,000
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Information technology $109,194
- Computing and information science $99,561
- Nursing $97,211
- Business administration $87,997
- Marketing $80,588
- Nursing $103,884
- Computer science $88,308
- Mechanical engineering $86,834
- Computing and information science $85,864
- Homeland Security $84,553
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.