Capital vs McKendree
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Capital UniversityColumbus, OHCompass Score: Good · Top 47%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.McKendree UniversityLebanon, ILCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Capital has the higher graduation rate: 60% against 53% at McKendree.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Capital has the lower price after aid: $19,062 a year, against $21,928 at McKendree.
- Capital has the lower average price after aid: $22,576 a year, against $24,717 at McKendree.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 32%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Columbus, OH
Lebanon, IL
Setting
Suburb
Suburb
Students
2,388
2,075
Sports
NCAA Division III · Ohio Athletic Conference
NCAA Division II · Great Lakes Valley Conference
Admission
Admission rate
70%
72%
Average SAT
1068
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
18–25
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
53%
First-year retention
76%
67%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$54,143
$58,572
Median debt
$26,889
$23,250
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,576
$24,717
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$19,062
$21,928
$30,001–$48,000
$18,574
$21,432
$48,001–$75,000
$20,331
$21,041
$75,001–$110,000
$23,348
$28,333
Over $110,000
$27,299
$29,066
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Managerial economics $84,669
- Accounting $79,157
- Nursing $77,807
- Business administration $71,710
- Marketing $66,462
- Nursing $79,916
- Management science $69,002
- Marketing $65,696
- Human resources $63,519
- Accounting $61,361
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.