Capitol Technology vs SUNY Maritime
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Capitol Technology UniversityLaurel, MDCompass Score: GoodB+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.SUNY Maritime CollegeThroggs Neck, NYCompass Score: Very good · Top 25%
At a glance
- SUNY Maritime has the higher graduation rate: 64% against 43% at Capitol Technology.
- For families earning up to $30,000, SUNY Maritime has the lower price after aid: $11,726 a year, against $19,682 at Capitol Technology.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at SUNY Maritime: $95,951, against $85,035 at Capitol Technology.
Scores
Compass Score
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 25%
Academic Excellence
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 49%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 23%
Value
A-Value: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 17%
B+Value: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 24%
The college
Category
National universities
Regional universities
Location
Laurel, MD
Throggs Neck, NY
Setting
Suburb
City
Students
902
1,350
Sports
Not reported
NCAA Division III · Skyline Conference
Admission
Admission rate
74%
72%
Average SAT
Not reported
1214
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
22–28
Outcomes
Graduation rate
43%
64%
First-year retention
77%
83%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$85,035
$95,951
Median debt
$20,264
$23,250
Cost
Average price after aid
$22,102
$22,367
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$19,682
$11,726
$30,001–$48,000
$17,134
$17,577
$48,001–$75,000
$15,161
$20,721
$75,001–$110,000
$27,961
$23,634
Over $110,000
$25,778
$27,565
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
Not reported
- Marine Transportation $115,831
- Electrical engineering $107,749
- Mechanical engineering $106,932
- Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering $106,186
- Industrial Engineering $102,563
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.