Carlow vs Manhattanville
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Carlow UniversityPittsburgh, PACompass Score: Good · Top 46%BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Manhattanville UniversityPurchase, NYCompass Score: Good
At a glance
- For families earning up to $30,000, Manhattanville has the lower price after aid: $13,548 a year, against $17,901 at Carlow.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Manhattanville: $58,832, against $51,051 at Carlow.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 35%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 48%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchase, NY
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
2,310
2,379
Sports
NCAA Division III · Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference
NCAA Division III · Skyline Conference
Admission
Admission rate
87%
87%
Average SAT
1080
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
58%
First-year retention
84%
74%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$51,051
$58,832
Median debt
$25,500
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,786
$20,991
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,901
$13,548
$30,001–$48,000
$15,748
$15,131
$48,001–$75,000
$19,517
$18,072
$75,001–$110,000
$21,601
$23,287
Over $110,000
$25,214
$27,319
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Biology $134,677
- Nursing $86,258
- Accounting $76,099
- Business administration $65,696
- Social work $47,486
- Marketing $77,161
- Finance $76,914
- Business administration $76,753
- Psychology $63,908
- Sociology $61,752
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.