Carlow vs Misericordia
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Carlow UniversityPittsburgh, PACompass Score: Good · Top 46%B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Misericordia UniversityDallas, PACompass Score: Very good · Top 34%
At a glance
- Misericordia has the higher graduation rate: 72% against 60% at Carlow.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Carlow has the lower price after aid: $17,901 a year, against $36,759 at Misericordia.
- Carlow has the lower average price after aid: $20,786 a year, against $37,485 at Misericordia.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
B+Compass Score: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 34%
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
A-Academic Excellence: Excellent (grade A-): the top 20% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 18%
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
National universities
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Dallas, PA
Setting
City
Suburb
Students
2,310
2,107
Sports
NCAA Division III · Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference
NCAA Division III · Middle Atlantic States Athletic Corporation
Admission
Admission rate
87%
71%
Average SAT
1080
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
72%
First-year retention
84%
78%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$51,051
$64,313
Median debt
$25,500
$26,973
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,786
$37,485
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,901
$36,759
$30,001–$48,000
$15,748
$37,554
$48,001–$75,000
$19,517
$36,848
$75,001–$110,000
$21,601
$37,879
Over $110,000
$25,214
$37,665
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Biology $134,677
- Nursing $86,258
- Accounting $76,099
- Business administration $65,696
- Social work $47,486
- Nursing $88,523
- Allied health $79,580
- Biology $78,107
- Business administration $72,833
- Psychology $72,572
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.