Carlow vs Mount Aloysius
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Carlow UniversityPittsburgh, PACompass Score: Good · Top 46%B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Mount Aloysius CollegeCresson, PACompass Score: Good
At a glance
- Carlow has the higher graduation rate: 60% against 57% at Mount Aloysius.
- For families earning up to $30,000, Carlow has the lower price after aid: $17,901 a year, against $21,530 at Mount Aloysius.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Carlow: $51,051, against $46,165 at Mount Aloysius.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
B-Compass Score: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
B-Academic Excellence: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional colleges
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Cresson, PA
Setting
City
Town
Students
2,310
2,967
Sports
NCAA Division III · Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference
NCAA Division III · Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference
Admission
Admission rate
87%
82%
Average SAT
1080
1070
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
57%
First-year retention
84%
56%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$51,051
$46,165
Median debt
$25,500
$24,287
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,786
$22,344
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,901
$21,530
$30,001–$48,000
$15,748
$20,389
$48,001–$75,000
$19,517
$19,770
$75,001–$110,000
$21,601
$21,769
Over $110,000
$25,214
$26,786
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Biology $134,677
- Nursing $86,258
- Accounting $76,099
- Business administration $65,696
- Social work $47,486
- Nursing $87,928
- Allied health $66,959
- Accounting $55,261
- Business administration $45,714
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.