Carlow vs Strayer University-Virginia
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Carlow UniversityPittsburgh, PACompass Score: Good · Top 46%C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Strayer University-VirginiaArlington, VACompass Score: Solid
At a glance
- Carlow has the higher graduation rate: 60% against 36% at Strayer University-Virginia.
- Median earnings ten years after entry are higher at Carlow: $51,051, against $40,092 at Strayer University-Virginia.
- Median debt is lower at Carlow: $25,500, against $40,621 at Strayer University-Virginia.
Scores
Compass Score
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 46%
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Academic Excellence
B+Academic Excellence: Very good (grade B+): the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 33%
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
B-Value: Good (grade B-): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Arlington, VA
Setting
City
City
Students
2,310
2,382
Sports
NCAA Division III · Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference
Not reported
Admission
Admission rate
87%
Not reported
Average SAT
1080
Not reported
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
36%
First-year retention
84%
75%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$51,051
$40,092
Median debt
$25,500
$40,621
Cost
Average price after aid
About $21,000
About $20,000
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
About $18,000
About $20,000
$30,001–$48,000
About $16,000
Not reported
$48,001–$75,000
About $20,000
Not reported
$75,001–$110,000
About $22,000
Not reported
Over $110,000
About $25,000
Not reported
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Biology $134,677
- Nursing $86,258
- Accounting $76,099
- Business administration $65,696
- Social work $47,486
- Nursing $105,703
- Information science $87,413
- Computing and information science $82,304
- Accounting $66,108
- Business (general) $64,016
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.