Carolina vs Judson
What each college publishes, side by side. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt come from federal data.
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Carolina UniversityWinston-Salem, NCCompass Score: SolidBCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.Judson UniversityElgin, ILCompass Score: Good · Top 47%
At a glance
- Judson has the higher graduation rate: 60% against 22% at Carolina.
- For families earning $48,001 to $75,000, Judson has the lower price after aid: $17,079 a year, against $22,993 at Carolina.
- Judson has the lower average price after aid: $18,558 a year, against $20,828 at Carolina.
Scores
Compass Score
C+Compass Score: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BCompass Score: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 47%
Academic Excellence
C+Academic Excellence: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BAcademic Excellence: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
Value
C+Value: Solid (grade C+): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges.
BValue: Good (grade B): below the top 35% of rated colleges. Letters are set by rank among rated colleges. Top 44%
The college
Category
Regional universities
Regional universities
Location
Winston-Salem, NC
Elgin, IL
Setting
City
City
Students
893
1,058
Sports
NAIA · Continental Athletic Conference
NAIA · Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference
Admission
Admission rate
40%
48%
Average SAT
Not reported
1039
ACT middle 50%
Not reported
16–24
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
60%
First-year retention
56%
59%
Median earnings 10 years after entry
$32,864
$56,313
Median debt
$20,287
$25,000
Cost
Average price after aid
$20,828
$18,558
Price after aid, by family income
Up to $30,000
$17,738
$15,701
$30,001–$48,000
$17,560
$18,010
$48,001–$75,000
$22,993
$17,079
$75,001–$110,000
$23,597
$21,124
Over $110,000
$24,152
$21,515
Top majors by graduate earnings
Bachelor's majors
- Bible/Biblical Studies $56,995
- Theology $38,859
- Architecture $63,846
- Business administration $63,153
- Psychology $46,816
- Teacher education $45,830
- Human services $38,639
Compare with another college
The Compass Score and grades are College Compass Guide’s own ratings. Cost, admission, graduation, earnings and debt are federal data. This comparison doesn’t rank the two colleges; the figures are shown as published.